top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJenna Shaw

National Volunteers' Week - Meet Parnian

Parnian joined us a few weeks ago and has been getting involved in different Volunteering areas of the group from food distribution to responding to people in need on our helpline.


A little bit about Parnian in her words...


I am  PhD student at the University of Manchester doing research in Developmental Genetics. In other words, I study how genes direct development of embryos. 


At the beginning of lockdown, I signed up to volunteer as a laboratory scientist for the NHS but I was notified that my services were not required at the moment. I felt really helpless towards everything that was going on. But I just kept checking until something came up that I felt I could do. 


I was introduced to the group by my friend Max Afnan who I know from the Baha'i community, which is the Faith we both follow. 


 

Volunteering Activities...


I started by helping at ARMR with tidying up some shopping that had been done. After that I felt more encouraged to keep on top of the group chats to see how else I can help. One day I was lucky to see a message asking for a volunteer to be on the phone line and I thought it's something I can do and I've been doing that once a week for a few weeks now. 


Parnian distributing food ready for the food parcels

 

My highlights of working with Ardwick and Longsight Mutual Aid Group...


The sheer speed that everything has come together and the simple yet effective system that has been developed is very impressive. But also considering how much work there is to be done, I have found it amazing that the people in the group can still find the time/way to support each other. This is particularly tangible on the days I'm taking calls and I always have people that can help to hand. 


One of my main highlights was my first day on the phone, towards the end of the day I got a call from a single mother with young children who was in need. As I was getting the details, the call got disconnected and I could not get a hold of her again. It was really close to when deliveries are going out, so I asked the group if we could send something anyway because I had managed to get her consent and address. I was sure someone will disagree and say we can just wait for her to call back. But no! Everyone was on board and a package was prepared for her. Although just before phone line was transferred away from me, I also got a call back from her which helped us send more specific things she needs. It was delivered to her not long after and I was very pleased to see it come together. 


To anyone wanting to Volunteer...

I'd say that it seems impossible until it doesn't. The only thing you need to do is to just jump on an opportunity, however small. 


I've only made a small contribution but I'm glad I was given the chance. 


 

Thank you for your contribution so far Parnian. Every contribution no matter how small or large is a massive difference to someone's life and the Community.

Thank you to everyone who is a part of Ardwick and Longsight Mutual Aid Group.

 

To anyone wanting to get involved and volunteer in Ardwick, Longsight and West Gorton, please email Laura.Cassidy@gmmh.nhs.uk



#@AandLmutual_aid #caringforourcommunity


56 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page